Never Sacrifice Who You Are

It is my hope that as a business professional as an ADULT you know that the power to select who you work with, does not contrary to popular belief rest solely in the hands of the first person who contacts you. This is probably the most important lesson that I have learned throughout my 7 years of managing top producing real estate teams. This concept applies to all aspects in my life not just business related. If you are not providing me with a positive give and take relationship, I don’t see a reason to continue with it.

During my 7 years as a client relations marketing manager many of my business relationships have turned into some of my dear closest friends. I am the first person to offer advice and lend a helping hand. Recently I have noticed that my caring and open personality is not being admired but rather taken advantage of.  I always have a Win-Win mindset and have a vested interest in ensuring anyone that I help along the way thrives. My personal reputation and pride are on line if I don’t help someone exceed their personal and business goals then I am the failure.

I made a promise to myself when I decided to start DG R.E.M that I would only work directly with people that I not only like but that I consider friends. Obviously not everyone is going to love me and I am more than okay with that! Just don’t plan on working with me if you feel that way. My number one rule is I won’t work with people who aren’t serious, motivated, and above all loyal. If I make a commitment to build your business and help you grow, you can guarantee that I will stay loyal and diligent to my promise.

I have been told more than once that I am loyal to a fault and that I wear my heart on my sleeve. I am not certain if this is a horrible trait that I need to work on or not. Regardless of what people think, I don’t really care because it is who I am and I don’t plan on changing my caring ways. If we are a good fit you can guarantee that I will stick with you until the very end. However, if you think that I am this young dumb blonde that you can easily use and manipulate strictly for your success you are sadly mistaken.

I will never feel comfortable addressing anyone I am working directly with as a “client”|”customer”|”consumer”|”user”|”guest”|”lead”    Or whatever impersonal description you choose to describe your business relationships. The bottom line for me is that everyone is an actual REAL HUMAN BEING WITH FEELINGS! Everyone has their own families, friends, obligations, and their own issues and struggles they may be dealing with at the time. We all encounter our good days and our bad days! (Sure some may have more issues than most)

I guess this blog post is mainly to let everyone know that I plan on staying true to who I am. Everyone lives their life how they feel fit and I only wish the best for everyone. I don’t hold grudges and get over things tremendously fast!

That is the rest of my random rant for the night! Thank you tremendously to all of those who care for the person I am solely because they care about me and not what type of information or connections I can provide you with.

You all know who you are! THANK YOU!


Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

